Windows and Insulation and Lumber, oh my!

Two and a half weeks until we pick up the trailer!

In the meantime, I’ve been scouring Craigslist and salvage yards between Seattle and Bellingham for supplies.  Managed to pick up 18 sheets of 1.5″ and 4 sheets of 4″ rigid foam insulation from people on Craigslist, to be used in the subfloor and probably the ceiling.  I’ve pretty much decided on wool from Oregon Shepherd for the walls.  I’ll talk more about insulation choices later.

I picked out all the windows for the ‘downstairs’ portion of the house, half of them at this gorgeously fun place near the West Seattle Bridge:

008 (2)

The other half at Skagit Building Salvage in Mount Vernon, just up the road from my house, where a very handsome tall red-haired man helped load my windows into the truck and told me he’s moving into an Airstream.  Universe, thank you for these small moments.20150216_142536

The windows!!!

Brand new, low-e double paned etc etc casement window for the kitchen. $125
Brand new, low-e double paned etc etc casement window for the kitchen. $125
Salvaged vinyl double pane windows, the tall one for the bathroom and the little one for above the sink/tub in the kitchen.  $35 each
Salvaged vinyl double pane windows, the tall one for the toilet closet and the little one for above the sink/tub in the kitchen. The little window has a broken seal that I didn’t notice, which might need repairing or might make it unusable, we’ll see.  $35 each
Very tall, very skinny salvaged vinyl windows for the "non-window" side of the house to provide some light and cross-ventilation.  $55 each
Very tall, very skinny salvaged vinyl windows for the “non-window” side of the house to provide some light and cross-ventilation. $55 each
This window will be the main source of light and air in the living room.  5' wide by 4' tall, it slides open in both directions and will be the emergency exit as well.  It will live over my writing desk.  $110.
This window will be the main source of light and air in the living room. 5′ wide by 4′ tall, it slides open in both directions and will be the emergency exit as well. It will live over my writing desk. $110.
The crown jewel, this will live on the short end of the living room, in my reading nook.  There is a cracked pane over the stained glass that I need to get repaired, and it's single paned so might need some extra insulation in the winter, but still... pretty!!!  $95
The crown jewel, this will live on the short end of the living room, in my reading nook. There is a cracked pane over the stained glass that I need to get repaired, and it’s single paned so might need some extra insulation in the winter, but still… pretty!!! $95

I’m a little nervous buying used windows, but my budget and my build philosophy (use salvaged materials first, eco-friendly new materials second when possible, always being conscious of my status as a broke-ass motherf***er and getting the best I can afford given the first two principles) won’t stand for new, so this is what we’ve got.  $550 for windows so far and still need 2 small windows for the loft ends, small windows for the sides of the sleeping loft dormer, and an egress skylight.

I spent 2 days driving all over western Washington purchasing, picking up and delivering supplies to the build site in Monroe., including some 2x4s Dad had leftover from building a shed.  Seeing everything collected under the gigantic carport where the house will come to life was pretty cool.

It's like watching the bones of my little house start to form

20150218_110948

It’s like watching the bones of my little house start to form.

I have an unexpected day off today and while I might pull it together and go do some ‘productive’ things later, for now it’s 11:43 and I’m still in bed watching Russell Brand videos, researching insulation R-value, writing in my journal, drinking ginger tea and listening to the birds chirp outside as the dogs sleep curled at my feet.  We’re taking a Domino’s field trip to the 80’s dance night in Bellingham this evening.  Life is pretty all right.

Leave a Reply

