Poem for Huey

The dogs follow me around the house as if I am God.
Huey’s eyes are soft with trust and desire
when he looks at me.
I take his paw in my hand
and feel him melt into belonging.
I tell him
it is too much to ask of me.
I am flawed.
I am damaged.
I also long for a being bigger
and more knowing than myself
to follow,
and if some creature appeared before me
seeming to hold all the answers
I too would lay down at her feet,
expose my soft underbelly
and give up all of this fear.

013 (10)

Leave a Reply

